Yorkshire Puddings – Delia versus Aunt Bessie

The children are back at school, the days are slowly drawing in, and I can suddenly feel a slight autumn chill in the air. This is when I start dreaming of warming comfort food – stews, pies, crumbles, basically anything calorific and slightly stodgy. Last night, to satisfy my craving, I cooked a giant Yorkshire pudding using Delia’s magic recipe from her ‘Complete Cookery Course’ book. I’ve not changed it much except to double the quantity, as I like the Yorkshire pudding to act as the main event, not just an accompaniment.

Say what you like about Delia but for me she is the queen of the basic every day recipe and I promise that this one has never, ever, let me down. The puddings may vary slightly with regards to how much they rise, and they may sometimes rise unevenly, but they always do rise. I (perhaps rudely) offer to give it to anyone who ever serves me an Aunt Bessie’s.

Delia’s Yorkshire Puddings

  • 150g plain flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 150ml milk
  • 100ml water
  • A good pinch of salt
  • Oil (I use rapeseed oil)

Preheat your oven to 220oC.

Oil two round tins, 20cm wide with a desert spoon of oil for each tin and put in the oven to heat up.

Measure the flour, salt, eggs and milk into a bowl and whisk by hand until smooth. Then add the water and whisk again for a minute or so to get plenty of air into the mix.

You will need to work quickly for the next part. Remove the hot tins from the oven and fill each one with half the batter mixture. The mixture should sizzle and bubble as it touches the hot oil. Put the tins back into the oven on the same shelf and close the door gently. Cook for 20 minutes until risen and golden.

Now fill the Yorkshire puddings with a filling of your choice. My absolute favourite is cabbage, sausages and gravy. A meaty stew is also good.

The golden lovelys. Please excuse the rather grimy oven.

The golden lovelys. Please excuse the rather grimy oven.

Ready for the table. And yes, this is one portion.

Ready for the table. And yes, this is one portion.

Leave a Reply

