What spices make up Chinese Five Spice?

I like to grind my own Chinese Five Spice as I think it tastes fresher than bought stuff but I always forget the five key ingredients so I wanted to make a note of them here.

Chinese Five Spice

Equal quantities of:

  • Star anise
  • Sichuan peppercorns
  • Fennel seeds
  • Cloves
  • Cinnamon

Grind up the above ingredients in a spice grinder and store in a jar. You don’t need to make up too much at a time as the flavours are very strong and a little goes a long way.

Related recipe: Chinese flavoured rice in my post ‘Nice Rice’.

spices

Leave a Reply

