Childhood memories and Granny’s special recipe

Granny and me   crunch cooling

When I was a little girl I used to love going to stay with my Granny in the holidays. We lived in Surrey and she lived in Whaley Bridge in Derbyshire so we only saw her once or twice a year. She was a very kind and mild mannered lady but with the simple selfishness of all children the thing I looked forward to the most wasn’t her company but her ‘crunch’. It was something that we always expected when we first arrived after a long car journey north and she never ever let us down.

Thank you very much to my Aunty Cath who now lives in New Zealand for sending me this recipe which I had long forgotten. I tasted this today for the first time in many, many, years and boy did the memories come flooding back. It’s similar to flapjack but it has more of a, would you believe it, ‘crunch’. I think the addition of the walnuts and bicarbonate of soda give it quite a unique flavour. It is unbelievably moreish and won’t hang about for long.

Granny’s crunch

  • 110g light brown sugar
  • 110g self-raising flour
  • 170g rolled oats
  • 170g butter
  • 1tbsp syrup
  • 1tbsp cold water
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 56g chopped walnuts

Preheat your oven to 160oC fan and grease a shallow baking tray (I used a 9 x 12 inch one.)

Cream butter, sugar, add cold water, syrup then add flour oats, bicarb and walnuts and stir until combined.

Press the mixture into the tin. It will be a thin covering but this is essential to get the ‘crunch’.

Bake for 35-40 minutes. Leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes before cutting into squares.

The original recipe.

The original recipe.

Leave a Reply

