Madeleines

madelines 2

I’ve not been a great success in the kitchen this week. First of all I made a custard tart but there was a tiny crack in the pastry case and the liquid filling ended up pouring out all over the oven. I’m usually calm in the face of adversity but on this occasion I swore and stamped my feet like a frustrated child.

Then I tried to make meringues. I’ve had some past success with a Peyton and Byrne recipe so I used this and did all the things generally recommended for success (clean bowl, no yolk in the white etc, etc) but they collapsed and ended up as a single flat disk (just about edible but only one step removed from eating an actual sugar cube).

After these disasters I needed something easy-peasy to calm me down and restore my confidence so I turned to this madeleine recipe from Raymond Blanc’s very 90s book ‘Cooking for Friends’. They don’t wow on the looks front even though they’re cooked in a fancy shell shaped pan, but they have a simple, sweet, buttery taste which is just lovely. They are also tiny so you don’t feel too guilty about popping one in with your coffee or feeding them to your children.

It’s nice to have the proper tin but to be honest the shell pattern on my one isn’t that pronounced. If you don’t have a madeleine tin then you can just use a regular 12 case jam tart tin.

Madeleines

Raymond says this makes 35-40 pieces but it makes two batches of 12 in my Lakeland madeleine tin.

  • 2 eggs
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 10g brown sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 15g honey
  • 90g plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 90g butter, melted
  • A little more melted butter and flour for preparing the tin

Preheat the oven to 190oC fan.

First prepare the tin. Brush with plenty of melted butter, sprinkle on some flour and tap off the excess.

Beat together the eggs, sugars, salt and honey until smooth in consistency.

Fold in the flour and baking powder, then add the melted butter and mix until well blended.

Half fill each hole in the tin with the mixture and cook for 5-7 minutes in the oven or until just cooked through.

Take out of the oven, remove from the tin immediately and cool on a wire rack.

These are best eaten warm.

Leave a Reply

