Banana fritters with coconut ice cream

bananafritters2

Cooked banana is like marmite, you either love it or hate it.

I absolutely love it (I take after my father here).

If I ever see banana fritters (AKA: Pazham Pori, Toffee banana, Glouy Tod) on a dessert menu then I just have to order them even if I’m already stuffed. We won’t talk about my gannet-like behaviour at the Golden Dragon in Shardlow where they offer banana fritters as part of their all-you-can eat Sunday buffet.

I recently I had the best banana fritters (Glouy Tod) I’ve ever eaten at ZAAP Thai in Nottingham and it made me want to try making them myself. I’ve had a go before with a simple flour and egg batter (not a great success) but the addition of coconut and sesame seeds here adds something extra special.

Now I need to forget that I’ve ever discovered this recipe or I’ll end up the size of a house.

Thai style banana fritters

Serves 2-4

  • 2 bananas cut on the diagonal into 1cm slices
  • Groundnut oil for shallow frying
  • Golden syrup to serve

For the batter

  • 3 -5 tablespoons of cornflour
  • 3 tablespoons of water
  • ½ teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tablespoon of dried unsweetened coconut
  • 1 heaped teaspoon of sesame seeds (plus more for sprinkling)
  • A pinch of salt

Mix all the ingredients for the batter together in a bowl until smooth. Start with 3 tablespoons of water. At first the consistency will be slightly weird because of the cornflour (both runny and thick at the same time), you need to add just enough additional water for the mix to be smooth without the cornflour resisting being stirred (hopefully this will make sense when you do it). The original recipe uses rice flour so you can use this if you prefer.

Tip in the banana and stir gently with your hands until each piece is well covered with the batter.

Fill a frying pan with enough groundnut oil to cover the whole bottom of the pan and heat to a medium-high heat. Put each piece of battered banana into the hot pan and fry on each side until golden brown (about 3 minutes each side). You may need to do this is two batches depending on the size of your pan.

You can also deep fry them if you like. In this case they only take around 2-3 minutes. Make sure your oil is really hot though.

Lift out with a slotted spoon and drain on some kitchen towel.

Eat immediately with golden syrup drizzled over the top and coconut or vanilla ice cream on the side.

NOTE: For the coconut ice cream follow this recipe for vanilla ice cream but substitute half the double cream for coconut cream, omit the vanilla essence and add 3 tablespoons of dried unsweetened coconut before churning. Served on its own with chocolate sauce this would be like a frozen Bounty.

Leave a Reply

