Cornflake cakes

cornflake cakes

Someone once told me that when you reach 40 your musical tastes stagnate. You no longer consumer new music but rather spend the rest of your life buying records that you wish you’d bought earlier in your life.

Well this seems to have happened to me with regards to recipes. I keep cooking the same old things and seem unable to get excited by anything new. I can often be found scrolling aimlessly through recipes online admiring the pretty photos but failing to find anything that I actually want to eat. If anything they seem to curb my appetite. I find myself looking longingly at the toaster and the egg cupboard.

I am still cooking, it’s just that right now I seem to be keeping to my current repertoire a good percentage of which is now on this blog. I am definitely its biggest user and that’s really why I keep it going. My collection of courgette recipes has certainly proved useful with our current glut. I’m always on the lookout for more but just not ones involving pickled samphire, or freekeh!

Now here’s a recipe for something I definitely do want to eat. I’ve turned 40 and I may now be heading backwards, but seriously, who can resist the lure of a good old fashioned cornflake cake. Made simply with cocoa powder, butter and golden syrup.

I used to make these in the school summer holidays as a child and now I encourage my children to do the same. I’ve never actually made these from a ‘real’ recipe it was more a case of approximation in our house but I’ve now made an effort to attempt to write it down (for future generations – if anyone is still cooking by then!).

Cornflake Cakes

Makes 18 (using muffin size cases)

  • 150g butter
  • 150g golden syrup
  • 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • 200g of cornflakes (any brand will do or use rice krispies if you prefer)

Take a saucepan and measure in the butter, golden syrup and cocoa powder. Heat gently until all the ingredients have melted and stir with a wooden spoon until the cocoa powder has no lumps and you have a nice smooth mixture.

In a large mixing bowl measure out the cornflakes. Pour over the chocolate mixture and stir well until every last bit of cornflake is coated in chocolate.

Take a muffin tin and line with muffin cases. Fill each case with the cornflake mixture pressing down well with the back of the spoon to compact a little.

Put in the fridge to set for at least an hour.

PS. I hope to get my experimental, forward-looking self back soon. I have been writing this blog for nearly four years now and I have a feeling I’ve been here before? My local library in Beeston has reopened with a stunning array of cookbooks which will hopefully inspire me.

5 comments

  1. Every time I come back to your blog I simply love the no-nonsense approach. Best results for least faff. Just been reading the one about scones having spent a few days in the west country testing tourist cream teas ( sounds like I have a job doing that but….. I don’t) The scones were quite repellent, doughy, tasteless chunky arrangements where no hint of butter or salt or sugar seemed to have been involved, let alone milk or light hands. Rest assured clotted cream and industrial jam do NOT help. So it was refreshing to see you explain so nicely and clearly about them. And yes Paul Holloywoods have gone overboard on the fat and the baking powder and the eggs. You put it all so well!

    So my point is, keep going, your blog is so unpretentious, well written and about lovely family cooking. I appreciate it and will use it more.
    ps would you like my mothers recipe for tea bread. Unfindable elsewhere in this exact form, very simple and always popular.

  2. Oh bliss – this has brought back some very happy childhood memories (although my Mum tended to go for Rice Krispie versions). Am so tempted to make up a batch and pretend to be seven years old again.

    I think my musical tastes stagnated years ago, and I’m a few years off 40. Either that, or all modern music is, in fact, rubbish 🙂

  3. So here it is

    Ingredients
    1 cup currants soaked overnight in 1 and a half cups strong tea (NOT sultanas)
    2 cups SR flour 1 and a half cups demerara sugar
    1 egg
    level teasp mixed spice

    Method
    Mix all together well. It makes quite a wet mix. Pour into greased loaf tin, bake in medium oven until done – it takes about an hour. Serve the next day thinly sliced and buttered.

    I have unfortunately had to attend quite a few funerals recently. Somehow this is perfect for them. I think there was a tradition of tea bread at funerals which I remember somewhere in my bones but for which I have no evidence. I like to call this Mary Stevens tea bread, but you might like to call it something else.
    x

    1. Excellent, thanks for sending through the recipe. I’ll definitely give it a go – probably when the children are back at school and I can have some nice quiet time in the kitchen again. x

Leave a Reply

